Celebrating the Saints and the Feasts of the Church

Most saints have specially designated feast days. On those days we remember these holy men and women in a special way. The tradition arose from the early Christian custom of commemorating each martyr annually on the date of his or her death, or birth into heaven, a date therefore referred to in Latin as the martyr's dies natalis ("day of birth"). The Church also celebrates special events or happenings in the history of the Church with solemnities, feasts, and memorials. The saint days and other celebrations in the month of May are: 


May 3 - Saints Philip and James, apostles

May 14 - Saint Matthias, apostle

May 16 - The Ascension of the Lord

May 23 - Pentecost Sunday 

May 24 - The Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother of the Church

May 26 - Saint Philip Neri, priest

May 30 - The Most Holy Trinity


All you holy men and women, pray for us!